Click on the icons below for more information about the 2020 Sasol Solar Challenge

Welcome to the Sasol Solar Challenge

The South African Sasol Solar Challenge (SSC) is an eclectic, collaborative platform that showcases the advancement of solar technologies, which is further demonstrated through academics, budding technological entrepreneurs, and renewable energy enthusiasts.

The South African event now attracts some of the best teams from across the globe to partake in its 2 000 km challenge, varying road conditions and altitude drops of nearly 2 000 m. Primarily entered by university teams, the Sasol Solar Challenge exposes students to a range of real-world skills. The event requires engineers to work with mathematicians and scientists, as well as business and finance experts, pragmatic logistical minds and great communicators. The event also greatly benefits South Africa’s industry knowledge of home-grown technologies, as they are researched and developed by local teams who compete against world-class solar cars during the event.



Countdown To Sasol
Solar Challenge 2020