The 2022 Sasol Solar Challenge will be in Caledon (FreshStop) on 16 September between 10:00 and 15:00. This will be the first time the event stops in Caledon.


After travelling roughly 2, 200 kilometres from Johannesburg (taking stops along the route), the Sasol Solar Challenge will make its ninth control-stop in Caledon. The solar car teams will have an opportunity to refresh, swap drivers, do repairs, and strategise. The challenge will then move to Cape Town (V&A Water Front), which will be the official finish line of the eight-day long endurance event.


“The 2022 Sasol Solar Challenge is bringing new, interesting and challenging features as well as new solar car teams. The community of Caledon and surroundings can look forward to this new adventure and to experiencing a solar challenge where cars, which are powered only by the sun, go head-to-head, the winning team being the one that racked-up the most kilometres during the eight-day long challenge,” said Robert Walker, Owner and Director of the Sasol Solar Challenge. “This is also an opportunity for the community to learn more about different energy concepts, for clean and sustainable transportation.”

The 2022 Sasol Solar Challenge will incorporate special stages, which includes half and full blind stages, where information relating to the route will be withheld until the night before teams take on the road, forcing them to strategise last minute.

“We look forward to travelling with the teams to Caledon and engaging with the community. We also wish each team good luck as they work on a strategy to complete the blind stages and the whole event successfully,” said Nozipho Mbatha, Senior Manager: Group Brand and Sponsorships at Sasol. 


The Sasol Solar Challenge takes place every two years, bringing together university and high school teams, and even private engineers who have manufactured fully functioning, roadworthy solar powered cars. It runs on public roads, sharing space with trucks and regular traffic, and passes through multiple small towns.


The 2022 route from Johannesburg to Cape Town will include five provinces and 18 towns. New towns include Brakpan, Trompsburg, Willowmore, Kirkwood, Jeffreys Bay, Riversdale and Caledon. The event is also bringing new local and international teams including those competing for the first time in South Africa.


Spectators are welcome at all stops, and more information on the route and the teams can be found at:  or on social media:




Monday, August 1, 2022